Typically in a high school or anywhere else people like to flaunt their boyfriends/girlfriends, you see couples gazing into each other's eyes or eating each other's face off. And your reaction will be somewhere along the lines of "Wow i wish i have that" (not the eating of the faces of course) or "THANK YOU JESUS CHRIST I'M NOT IN ONE OF THOSE". And it got me thinking, why would anyone WANT something like that.
Yes, we are all human beings who want to feel loved and wanted and to have someone who shares the same feelings that we have for them. But is it all worth it? Is all the cuddling, kissing, sexual favors worth the fighting and problems that come with it? A relationship can make you happy, but it can also make you upset. I've always heard people say that no relationship is perfect or a marriage isn't a fairytale. Is it because that we as a society, is so jealous of those who don't argue we label their relationship as "not healthy" to make our problematic relationship look normal? Although, i do agree that people do need to sort out their differences and make room for their partner in order for them to fit into their lives, but if they really are worth changing for, why do people still resist change and fight over disagreements.
Sometimes I wonder if people go into a relationship knowing that it's going to end one day because they themselves don't want to be married. Or tied down as they say. Then why get into a relationship at all? Why would you put the one you "love" through all of that? Making them believe that this road together will lead to a special place where the two of you can frolic and dance through the day.
To be loved by another? To have someone to remind you that you're special? Or to light up a flashing sign that says "HEY LOOK HERE, SOMEONE WANTS ME THEREFORE I AM SIGNIFICANT IN THIS WORLD". You can see this in the tradition of "dates". Dates for prom, dates for weddings, dates for various social gatherings. Why would someone need a date? Pictures. Of course you need a picture with your DATE. You need to arrive with your DATE. Do you even have a DATE? DATEDATEDATEDATEDATEDATEDATEDATEDATE!
Honestly, I think that "dates" are all for show. I mean, you don't spend the whole evening with them because you're in a social gathering for you to socialize with others besides your date. I know a few people who don't want to go to prom or a wedding at all if they don't have a date. You can take mine if it makes you happy. I honestly don't care.
Oh and did i mention all the problems that go with having a special someone? Lets go with "what if" scenarios!
What is your partner's family doesn't like you? WHO CARES?! AS LONG AS WE'RE IN LOVE! OUR LOVE IS STRONGER THAN THAT, THEY WILL ACCEPT YOU EVENTUALLY! oh silly you. Personally I've seen the consequences in my family, and it's far from the things you see in sitcoms. Family members don't even want to have a thanksgiving dinner together because they hate each other that much. And if they do, it's all small comments that we all know mean something much more as we try to laugh it off and be nice while we all drown in our gravy of awkwardness. Then in the car ride home your mother rips apart your father's sister saying how horrible she is with no sincerity what so ever. The "bitch" you were talking about was his sister, mom. They grew up together, been through shit together, and probably even took a bubble bath together when they were 4 (because for some reason beyond reason, parents always have to take those). It doesn't matter if you're his wife and he's supposed to support you no matter what, you're the one being rude. And in come the longgg arguments that never can be settled.
And then you have cousins and aunts TAUNT your mother because of her religious beliefs. Seriously, WHAT THE HELL. WHO DOES THAT. ESPECIALLY FAMILY MEMBERS. They just crush her down so much because of what she believes in it really makes me feel bad for her. My cousin has told me numerous times that she thinks my parents should get a divorce and how much better things would be if my mom died. She would talk shit about my mom nonstop to me. Yea she's a really sweet and nice person. I'll probably mention her more along the way because she's the epitome of the greatest person in the world.
What if he/she cheats on you? We never go into relationships knowing or even SUSPECTING that our partner will cheat on us. But yet it happens. It really is devestating when someone we truly cared about finds love in someone else besides us. Self- conscious thoughts comes streaming in. And the worst thing of all, Defeat slaps us across the face. Of course we can move pass it and say that he's a jerk and he's not worth your time. But deep down inside there's the truth. He didn't want you. But now you don't want him so its all okay!
We want to believe that we make the right choices and the people we choose to give our heart to wont shred it into pieces, light it on fire, and then throw it in coming traffic. Divorce also happens. All the time and commitment put into it and it turns out that your husband isn't "The One". And you sit there and sulk hoping that this isn't reality and that your life should go according to plan.
As my very knowledgeable English teacher once said, "No one just wakes up one morning and decides to cheat on her husband that day. It usually involves many months and even years of contemplating on the thought to actually carry it out. A small idea can change everything." What happened? People got tired of each other. That's what happened.
Despite all these possible problems, people still go for it. I guess this is what makes life life, taking chances.
(If you want to continue to think that then don't read anything below this)
But why do we create problems for ourselves? Are we really that bored? Or do we believe that the things we overcome will help us knock down other walls that crash into us? Or maybe we grew up learning that life is supposed to be hard we begin to choose a rougher road because that's what we believe what life is. Or maybe its because we compare ourselves to other people and we get jealous. Now I'm getting off topic ahaha
After watching Avatar i realized something: someone ALWAYS has to fall in love and FUCK EVERYTHING UP.
________________________________________________________________________________________
IFFFFF someone actually reads my post and makes nasty comments I should probably defend myself now lol
Yes, I have been in a relationship
Yes, I like people's company
Yes, I enjoy being loved
Yes, I do want to get married (eventually ahaha I have my whole life in front of me)
Yes, I very much like making people jealous
Yes, I do "crush" on other people and do hope they feel the same way
Yes, I also think that my ride shouldn't be stuck in traffic
Yes, I really shouldn't be let alone with my thoughts
I'm not completely against relationships, I just know someone who's going through a tough time in theirs. This was just something i was thinking about
What do YOU think?
Friday, March 12, 2010
What are you people getting yourselves into?!
Posted by just for shits and giggles at 4:56 PM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment